Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

aftermarket Exhaust Manifold - worth the $$$

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2007, 03:44 PM
HCF Member
Default aftermarket Exhaust Manifold - worth the $$$

Hi,
Im new to Hondas and dont quite know allthe facts yet about the B16A. I noticed the stock exhaustmanifold was a 4-2-1 set up. i noticed a nice looking 4-2-1 shiny and longer after market manifold on ebay designed for the DOHC B engines, will bolting this onto my car improve the performance, bearing in mind im running my engine standard. Im working on the intake and exhaust efficiency at the moment. I will play with cams and pistons later. Will this new manifold boost my performance?

ps. i plan on also changing the cat and back box soon as well, so the stock/new manifold would be working with this exhaust set up. I also dont plan on turbo/super charging the engine at any point either

So is this new shiny ebay 4-2-1 DOHC manifold better than my stock B16A 4-2-1 manifold, and if so by how much?

thank you for your time

Old 07-04-2007, 04:58 PM
Super Cereal Admin
Default RE: aftermarket Exhaust Manifold - worth the $$$

Well it's not the fact that it's a 4-2-1 design; it's the design of the tubes. The exhaust ports on the stock manifold are really small and rough; the exhaust ports on most aftermarket headers are fairly large and perfectly smooth. And for the record, Bisimoto headers gain you around 15hp for $500... is that worth it? I'd say so.

Old 07-04-2007, 05:38 PM
HCF Member

thank you, so what performance increase would i see with a performance header on a stock engine setup. i also plan on getting a decat pipe and maybe a performance backbox. i already have a cold air intake fitted too

this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...ayphotohosting
(4-1, came off of a B18, looks man enough)

or this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HONDA-CIVIC-DE...QQcmdZViewItem
(stainless steel 4-2-1)