Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

damn cel!!!

  #1  
Old 01-20-2007, 10:45 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 17
Default damn cel!!!

I bought some racing headers for my 04 civic lx,dont knowwhat brand of headers.But my stock headers have the cat.conv. built in it,so when i removed the factory headers and installed my after market headers..BOOM! damn CEL comes on!, then the o2 sensor wires aint long enough for the 2nd sensor. any suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:25 AM
AOL.COM's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: somewhere in ct
Posts: 1,446
Default RE: damn cel!!!

you need to put on a cat. from a ex or dx model
as far as the o2 wire you need to to cut it & add some wire inbetween it to make it longer- dont mix up the wires
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-2007, 12:07 PM
Remmy's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charleston
Posts: 11,248
Default RE: damn cel!!!

ORIGINAL: AOL.COM

you need to put on a cat. from a ex or dx model
as far as the o2 wire you need to to cut it & add some wire inbetween it to make it longer- dont mix up the wires

DO NOT CUT IT. GO HERE www.o2simulator.com
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-2007, 08:21 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 17
Default RE: damn cel!!!

I did Put a new cat. on it from a ex model,but the CEL light is still on,i have two black wires that go to the o2 sensors maybe i got those mixed up
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:37 AM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: damn cel!!!

the CEL is still on because even though yeah u have a cat, all the increased exhaust flow is throwing your sensors off. And yea, theres also a chance you screwed up splicing the wires. I'm in the same situation and i just gotta get an o2 simlator too.

And Remmy, when you say dont cut, you mean don't extend them? Because even with the o2 simlator, you still have to splice into the stock sensorwires to get a 12V and a ground, and you also have to just cut the stock signal right off and wire in the new one from the simulator.
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:40 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 17
Default RE: damn cel!!!

Well fellas i had the two black wires that go to the heat core in o2 sensors backwards, as soon as switch them the CEL light went out!!! thanks for the help
 
  #7  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:49 AM
FlipHKD720's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 8,442
Default RE: damn cel!!!

congrats you're lucky man, with the increased flow you usually get the CEL even if the wires are right
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Super Mario
The Lounge
15
08-11-2005 07:52 PM
sacicons
The Lounge
8
07-21-2005 11:31 AM
jdmpearlintegra
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
6
06-04-2005 12:55 PM
hondabboy
Pics and Videos
11
05-04-2005 10:36 PM
Remmy
The Lounge
10
02-25-2005 07:55 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: damn cel!!!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.