Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Ebay headers and CAI help!

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2008, 09:24 AM
HCF Member
Default Ebay headers and CAI help!

Hey guys. I'm new to the whole civic tuning thing. I'm just starting to learn. I was an idiot and bought some ebay headers and cai before i even subscribed to this forum. I have stock exhaust except for a lovely muffler tip. I heard that i cant install my ebay headers into my stock exhaust, but i wanted to ask here, where people know for a fact. I dont want to make and further mods to my car, as how now im saving up for a manual ex. Should i put the stuff in? Your help/advice will be greatly appreciated.

Old 09-01-2008, 09:46 AM
HCF Member

I know the Ebay CAI will be fine as long as you change out the Filter with either K&N or AEM or whatever you want, just don't use what comes with it. I'm not 100%, and I know one of the guys will correct me if I'm wrong, but as long as you have a D series motor, and the headers are for a D series you should be fine. I really don't know about the quality they are though compared a name brand. How soon do you plan on buying the EX ?

Old 09-01-2008, 09:50 AM
Snail'n Admin

The problem with your car is the location of the cat which runs perpendicular to the car. Its right by the block where as on an EX, the cat is under the car under the center console area. You can install an ebay header with a stock exhaust (not sure what youre going to do about your cat situation but yes, a stock exhaust and header can usually go together

Old 09-01-2008, 11:41 AM
HCF Member

Well i just started college, so im planning to keep this car for maybe 2 or 3 more years. Its young. only 143k on the engine and body.

As far as the headers, will i notice any difference in performance or sound since i have the stock exhaust?

and what will change if i take out the cat? (which is prolly illegal)