HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Header, Intake, & Exhaust (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/header-intake-exhaust-12/)
-   -   Exhaust Header - Please Help! (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/header-intake-exhaust-12/exhaust-header-please-help-93464/)

MarshMellow 06-12-2012 04:49 PM

Exhaust Header - Please Help!

Hi, I'm new to the Civic modification world. So for give me if my terms are incorrect, or I sound like a complete moron.

My 2002 Honda Civic LX (1.7L) has a busted Exhaust Manifold. It was suggested to look into a Aftermarket replacement for a lower cost compared to the OEM replacement. While researching just that, I found that it much cheaper for an "Exhaust Header" - But this does away with the Catalytic Converter. Further research opened up question upon question - which trying to research those questions has landed me on this forum. Unable to find a direct answer to my current dilemma, I figured it best to just post/ask..

So here goes: I want to replace the Exhaust Manifold with an Exhaust Header. Only issue is I do not know what will work - or what to buy.. I'm working with a very tight budget. I don't have the money to replace the entire Exhaust all at once, so I need to replace it in parts - Starting with the Exhaust Header, since my Manifold is busted.

It seems the ones available on ebay are priced low, but not the best value. At least from reading the many post on this forum and a couple others.

My question is: Is there an inexpensive Exhaust Header that will last more than a couple months (preferably years) yet will work with the stock exhaust system (until replaced.)

Oh, and I do not want to have to weld anything.. Because I want to be able to go back in and replace the rest of the exhaust when the money is available.