Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

exhaust system for 97 ex

Old 11-20-2004, 12:05 AM
Default exhaust system for 97 ex

I just bought a 97 civic ex. I want to add more power so i am thinking of adding an AEM cold air intake, dc sports header, and a greddy evo2 catback. Does anyone have a setup like this or does anyone have any better ideas. I am new at this so anything would help.

Old 11-20-2004, 07:57 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: exhaust system for 97 ex

those are the most common things people get when they start modifying their cars. But to be honest, you aren't going to get that much power out of them. Combined, you might get 10hp ar the wheels. It's decent power gain but not "eyes in the back of your head" power.

I went this route too just because my car was new and I didn't want to put in a turbo or super charger right away (+ i was poor). Putting these mods in won't void your manufacturer warranty but forced induction will.

So, if you can get a decent price for those parts.. then go ahead. I would guess that all 3 should be around $1500 (CAD). 700-800 exhaust, 250-300 intake, 400-500 headers

Old 11-20-2004, 10:09 AM
HCF Member

actually any mod can void the factory warranty, but theres something called the moss act bla-bla... its a long story thats on this forum about a million times.

Old 11-20-2004, 10:19 AM
HCF Member

not any mod. exhaust, headers, and intake will not void manufacturer warranty. Obviously if the new exhaust is broken, the manufacturer isn't gonna help you with that. but my point is that it won't affect other components. As soon as u put a turbo or super charger in, virtually every system is affected and can be argued that it failed because of that.

Old 11-20-2004, 02:49 PM
HCF Member