HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Header, Intake, & Exhaust (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/header-intake-exhaust-12/)
-   -   Intake manifold (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/header-intake-exhaust-12/intake-manifold-25733/)

pWnEdU 07-20-2006 06:44 PM

Intake manifold

I've done a lot of porting and polishing on f/i engines, but I'm new to n/a. I was thinking about porting my stock intake manifold as opposed to buying a skunk2.

Has anyone else tried this? I bet you can make enough of a gain at the cost of a few die grinder bits that a skunk2 is pointless... but I haven't looked too close at the stock manifold, is there enough room for improvement?

riceburner700 07-20-2006 10:27 PM

RE: Intake manifold

yes you should open that manifold up it will deffinitly alow more air into the engine

Marty 07-20-2006 10:31 PM

Your stock manifold will do all you want it to w/o being ported in a NA application. All it will really help is throttle responce and maybe give a slight hop(not jump) in mid range tq.

pWnEdU 07-21-2006 05:35 PM

Interesting... then why are people dumping so much money into those skunk units?

I do plan on getting a larger throttle body though, I need a snappier throttle.

pWnEdU 07-21-2006 06:33 PM

Most of the porting I've done had been on forced induction engines, like my laser race car or the dodge I used to have... I did some porting on the monte race car (406) but it was minimal.

I know that N/A engines are a lot less forgiving. When I ported for forced induction, I actually left the walls rough on purpose because it got the air tumbling better.

So on the intake manifold, should I polish it smooth and just make all the runners smooth and even? I would just port match it to the size of the runners in the head and smooth it out basically...

Marty 07-21-2006 07:06 PM