HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Header, Intake, & Exhaust (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/header-intake-exhaust-12/)
-   -   new to imports need advice (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/header-intake-exhaust-12/new-imports-need-advice-25872/)

warchunks 07-23-2006 02:07 PM

new to imports need advice

hi everyone i just today bought a 2005 honda civic 1.7l and while i am not new to the performance car world i am new to imports and the aftermarket parts for them. what i am looking for is a good intake/header combo that wont break the bank as well as other performance enhancing ideas for the future. i was also thinking of putting in bosch plat +4 or maybe the NGK's with some sweet accell wires to go with it. thanks for your help in advance.

Chimera02EX 07-23-2006 03:02 PM

RE: new to imports need advice

Ok first, you don't have a distributor so crossout the Accel wires. Go with the NGK coppers, you'd just be wasting money on bosch. AEM cold air and DC 4-2-1 header ~$500. With this engine, unless you are going to turbo it (then I suggest skipping on the header), stop at I/H/E. If you do wanna go farther I suggest the following, bigger TB, head work, valvetrain, stage 1 or 2 cam, raise compression, some internals and some N2O if ya want.

warchunks 07-23-2006 05:43 PM

ok cool thanks for the advice, now is the aem better than its K&N counterpart?

Chimera02EX 07-23-2006 06:06 PM

Yes. AEM, Injen and some Weapon R intakes are among the best. But for the money I say AEM.

pWnEdU 07-23-2006 08:05 PM

Bosch platinums suck.

civtec00 07-23-2006 08:09 PM

if you do the intake and an exhaust you should get a fuel pressure regulator

Chimera02EX 07-23-2006 08:12 PM

^ why? definately not needed for just an intake and exhaust. The stock one will do just fine.

D16Punk 07-24-2006 09:27 AM