Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Newbie has header change question Help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 10:08 AM
Default Newbie has header change question Help!

Hello, (96, civic, ex, 1.6 vtec, at)
My exhaust manifold cracked. Yesterday had mechanic come to house to check it out. Great mech, honest etc, but wants 90 bucks to put new ones on. Been researching for half a day or so. Thats what brought me here. 15 or 16 bolts plus o2 sensor seems to be the job. Any info is greatly appreciated. Here are questions:

1)With those 50 dollar 4,2,1 headers on Ebay, does the tail end of unit bolt on easily to pipe under car? No weird adaptors needed?
2) Does the fan unit have to come off to pull manifold?
3) Will car stands suffice?

Any info is appreciated. I am a broke old golf pro trying to save some money and have done a few jobs on the car myself but have limited knowledge of this job. Have a good new year.

Old 01-04-2007, 10:53 AM
Laced with Sarcasm
Default RE: Newbie has header change question Help!

IF you buy a $50 header off of ebay, you're going to end up right back in this position. Spend the money and get a decent manifold. If you want to take the cheap route, try hitting up a junk yard for a stock one.

As far as removal and install, it's fairly simple. Unbolt it from the head, disconnect it from the cat, pull o2 sensor and remove it. Install is reverse of removal

Old 01-04-2007, 11:06 AM

Thanks much. I think cat is down the pipe a ways. Not sure. Curious, you say I would end up back here, do the cheapies on ebay break? welds?? fitting???

Old 01-04-2007, 11:41 AM

Yes they break. The overall quality is not that great. And yes the converter down the exhaust, underneath your car.

Old 01-04-2007, 08:55 PM

Thanks for info.

Old 01-05-2007, 09:23 AM
HCF Member