Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

1998 Civic lx - electrical problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2012, 10:46 AM
Default 1998 Civic lx - electrical problems

Hello, this is my first time posting to this site, but I am in dire need of help.
I'm having some electrical issues with my car, and here's what they are...

1st: my passenger power mirror will not work, it is not receiving power. I have replaced the fuse - no luck. I also replaced the mirror with a new one, No luck... Then I replaced the control switch.... No luck.... My window and lock on the passenger door work fine... What is going on???

2nd: My rear window defroster will not work. No power. I replaced the fuse, no luck... I replaced the relay switch... No luck.... Any help appreciated!!

3rd: My last problem is my dash lights which illuminate the heating and air conditioning controls... Sometimes it lights up, sometimes it doesn't. I have noticed that when it doesn't light up, sometimes, when I switch the temp from cold to hot, boom, it lights up... Sometimes it doesn't.

Can someone please help me with these electrical issues!!!!

Old 01-27-2012, 02:36 PM
HCF Member

Check the fuse panel and your electrical wires/circuits out side the car in the engine compartment.

Old 01-28-2012, 05:15 AM
Recognized HCF Member

1. Could have broken wires between the door and the rest of the car. Open the door, hold the button down, and wiggle the wires to see if the mirror starts to move.