HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/mechanical-problems-technical-chat-8/)
-   -   88 civic bogging question (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/mechanical-problems-technical-chat-8/88-civic-bogging-question-65661/)

87c10slammer 05-21-2008 05:37 PM

88 civic bogging question

i am new to the civic world. the car isnt mine a friend asked me to help him out. now to the problem. it is a d15a1 block with a upgraded intake manifold. i forget what is is right now but it has 4 injectors and says programable injection on it. but it idles great right a 900rpm. but when you goose the throttle it bogs out but goes right back to a good idle. i have replaced the fuel filter with a known good one out of my old intergra. put my good distibutor on it and re done all the hacked up wiring but still has the same problem. i was told it may be out of time but need a second opinion. if it is what is the best way to do it. i know to put it on tdc but i dont see any marks on the cam gear. it is a single overhead cam 16 valve. i see the cam gear and it says top on it. do i just make sure that is on the top or is there something i am not seeing. also i pulled the sparkplugs and they were pretty carboned up. does that mean it to rich or lean. he recently bought the car and didnt do the intake swap himself and who ever did it hacked it up but it ran great when he got it so he wasnt that concered with wiring.

RonJ 05-21-2008 05:42 PM

RE: 88 civic bogging question

2 Attachment(s)
Attachment 27046

Attachment 27047

hatch46580 05-21-2008 05:45 PM

on the cam gear with the word "top" facing up look real carefull on each side of the cam gear there will be a little line on each side. line the 2 lines up with the deck of the head. were the valve cover and heard meet. as for the crank make sure its tdc. also what computer does he have in it??