Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

92-95 eg fog light install

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2012, 04:16 PM
HCF Member
Lightbulb 92-95 eg fog light install

(when previewing this the pics wouldnt show up so I just opted to post the address to my photos in my albums here on hcf)

Was looking around for a good set of instructions or DIY guidelines for installing a stock style fog lamp on my EG. Didnt find any so either I over looked them (most likely) or it hasnt been brought up yet.... anyway. I decided to write up some with pics. (this is my first time so wish me luck.)

I purchased these fog lights from a guy locally for $20, they were rusted up pretty bad and all the screws were stripped out... drilled them all out with an "ez out" and sanded the housings/frame work and sprayed them black to get to this point.... (also retapped and installed new bolts. 10/32's.)

NOTE: These stock style fog lights use a H55 lamp! (readily available at a very cheap price at your local parts place.)

HondaCivicForum.com - alanking80's Album: Garage - my 94 ex beater - Picture

I decided after looking at it that removing the bumper would making cutting the "grill" assemblies a lot easier to deal with so after a few minutes of work it was off an setting in the grass beside the car. This was a lot easier than I had expected. (There should have been 5 bolts, mine were 10mm... actually I had only 2 bolts, the previous owner had damaged the core supports so it was also tie wrapped... on either corner I had a phillips screw that plugged up into a small plastic socket assembly.)

I had decided to use a sawzall to cut out the grills on either side of the car.