Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Break-In Period / Gas Mileage

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2006, 01:26 AM
Default Break-In Period / Gas Mileage

Hey-
This is my first new car I've owned. It's a 06 Civic LX sedan---all stock. How long is the break in period for Hondas? Also, should I expect to get better gas mileage after I break the car in?? I think I'm on pace for a 30mpg tank (dealer tank).

I'm an admitted newbie and am all ears for some experienced advice. Thanks.

Old 01-17-2006, 08:38 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Break-In Period / Gas Mileage

read through your honda manul..in mine it tells you about the break in period and that you shouldent drive to fast,or accellerate hard, take any hard turns,brake fast and such for a certain about of miles..

Old 01-18-2006, 05:40 PM
HCF Member

Break in is 1,000 miles. Friend has that same model but the coupe. The car salesman told him to take it easy for the first thousand and not go over 65mph for that period.

Old 07-17-2007, 07:18 AM
HCF Member

I'm wondering about the same thing about my new 07 Sedan Ex automatic. The dealer didn't tell me a thing about break in and I kind of drove my normal way for about half a tank and then kind of realized about the break in and changed my habits, accelerating slower and stuff. I have not been watching my speed though, so I will do that. I'm only at about 300 miles. I have already filled the tank up once, which worried me. The first tank of gas got very disapointing gas mileage.