HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/mechanical-problems-technical-chat-8/)
-   -   Engine Chokes (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/mechanical-problems-technical-chat-8/engine-chokes-94823/)

jmacook 01-30-2013 07:23 PM

Engine Chokes

Hello Honda Experts,

I am a newbie and not much of a mechanic. I would like to get some of your expertise on my 1989 Honda Civic LX. It is a 4 door sedan, automatic. This is just my work car, it is great on gas.

Symptom: When the fuel tank is full, while driving and I come to a stop and I step on the brakes, be it hard braking or moderate the engine is fine. But if the fuel tank is about 3/4 full the engine feels like it is dying whenever I brake. Further test, I reset the odometer every time I fill up the tank and I notice that whenever the odometer has reaches 100 this symptom starts. Therefore, whenever I come to an intersection I have to apply the brakes very gentle especially when the gas tank is at 3/4 tank full.

Repairs Done So Far: replace fuel filter twice at different intervals, use fuel injector cleaners, fill up tank using super unleaded gas.

After doing the above repairs the symptom is still there. Does any of you experts have any idea what may be causing this? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for any expertise you have........

Joe

jmacook 01-31-2013 07:53 AM

1989 Honda Civic Gas Issue

Hello everyone I am a newbie and not much of a mechanic, more just a part replacer guy. I would like to get some of your expertise on my 1989 Honda Civic LX. It is a 4 door sedan with an automatic transmission. This is just my work car, it is great on gas.