Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

PLEASE HELP - My 1996 Honda Civic won't start & I love that car!

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2005, 01:54 PM
Default PLEASE HELP - My 1996 Honda Civic won't start & I love that car!

Hi Guys - I'm a newbie here and I'm really hoping one of you knowlewdgable folk will be able to help me out as I've checked your FAQs and "solved problems" boards but haven't found the answer to my problem.

I have a 1996 Honda Civic E - which I love but which currently is refusing to start.

When I turn the key there's nothing...no starter motor sound, no power up sound, nothing - the hazard lights do still work though, and the lights by the door locking ***** also still work but are not working normally. Normally when the car is locked and the alarm is on the indicator lights by the doors (internal) push-down ***** flick on and off at regular intervals, but currently these little red lights (one on each door) are on constantly.

I drove the car fine one day, that night the car-alarm went off three times for no apparent reason - and when I came to start the car the next day, as I say there was nothing.

Jump starting the car did not work, and I have replaced the battery but still currently nothing.

I think the problem must be related to the immobilzer but there is nothing in the owners manula about the immobilizer or how to fix it.

I have checked other posts and a car with a similar problem had got a broken wire to the immobilzer which was causing the problem.

I would be really grateful if anyone could tell me

a) How to find the immobilzer on my car

b) Whether this problem does sound like an immobilzer problem

c) What else it could be.

Thank you for your help guys - I really do appreciate it!

Cheers

Karen

Old 12-12-2005, 03:49 PM
HCF Member