Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

timing belt and valves

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2005, 11:58 PM
Default timing belt and valves

this past weekend i was driving and my engine shut off and woulnt start again , i towed it to the closest shop and asked them if they could have a look and tell me what is wrong with it , so i did and they told me my timing belt busted and my valves got bent , saying it was a 1200 $ job , so i took the car home took the insurance off of it and parked it , well tonight i took the valve cover off and was having a look and i never noticed anytyhing out of the ordianry other then a busted timing belt , im no mechanic either but i know where to state an obvious problem . so what im wondering is what i can look for to see if these guys arent trying to get a wack load of money out of me . and if i can just change the timing belt and fix the whole problem

Old 07-07-2005, 01:05 AM
Default RE: timing belt and valves

You can not look at the top of the head and tell if the valves are bent. You will need to do a leak down test to find this out. The odds are VERY good though that at least one valve got hit and is bent. $1200 sounds kind of high, you may want to look around for a used head and just swap it out. Be sure to get it checked out before installing. I just recently purchased a complete D16Y7 for $300. So there are deals out there just look around.

Old 07-07-2005, 02:08 AM

Sounds about right to have the valves bent when the timing belt brakes. THe 1200 is very high but sounds about right for a shop to want out of it and they would get it too if you werent smart enough to do some searching like you did.

Deff look into what 99civic said about a new (used) head, get some head studs and timing belt and viola.