New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Brand new civic owner, advice?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2013, 05:01 AM
Default Brand new civic owner, advice?

First off i wanna introduce myself. I'm Sean, and I'm brand new to the forums. I just purchased a 2006 Honda civic ex, 1.8L. Now, I've only just purchased it and not looking to get crazy. I'm 18 years old, working part time, so I'm starting out slow. I'm looking for advice on mods for my civic. I was thinking nice exhaust, cold air intake, after market yellow fog lights, tinted windows, and new rims? I'm not trying to be crazy flashy or race anyone, just have a fairly quick , and nice sounding and looking car. Any other suggestions? Please be gentle on me, as I'm new to cars period. I'm not looking to do anything crazy expensive, but am willing to spend the money for quality if that makes sense. Any other advice on my particular vehicle would be fantastic, and appreciated! Thanks so much! (And on a side note, I've been looking a lot at ebay parts. Yay or nay on those?)

Old 04-30-2013, 05:30 AM

Welcome to the forum

Well, I can tell you now that without turbocharging or supercharging, you can never expect that engine to be quick. It is built for fuel economy. Especially if it is an automatic.

That being said, it is still fun to modify and a great learning experience if you pick up the right habits, i.e. buying a quality part the first time instead of buying junk only to replace it later once you realize it is junk.

Do the tint first. It protects your interior and makes you more comfortable. That's important.