New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Civic Noob here

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2013, 06:29 AM
HCF Member
Default Civic Noob here

Hi, James from Minnesota, joined to learn some more info on my car.
I have a 2003 Civic EX sedan, I have had it for about 7 years( had it since Aug. 06') now and haven't had any problem with it. It is my daily driver but I try and keep it nice and clean.

Right now I'm getting ready to buy new shocks and springs (mine are the factory ones and have 80k miles on them), and I have no idea which ones I should get. Any recommendations, are greatly appreciated.

Quick pic I took after work yesterday ( it's dirty)

Attached Thumbnails Civic Noob here-image.jpg  

Last edited by 03EXcivic; 04-25-2013 at 06:31 AM.
Old 04-25-2013, 07:36 AM

Welcome to the forum!

Do you plan on lowering the car? Did a mechanic inform you that replacements are needed, or are you assuming this due to mileage?

Old 04-25-2013, 08:11 AM

Welcome

Doesn't seem like you plan on modifying it, I get the impression that you're just looking to maintain the car. Like cvcrcr99 said, do you know for a fact that they need replacement or are you assuming?

In my experience, although springs can sag over a long period time, you shouldn't really need to change the springs at 80k, unless of course there is an apparent problem with them. However, I think 80k miles is way too early for this to really happen.

I would not even replace the shocks unless you or a mechanic notice a specific problem.

That being said, if you really need to replace the springs I would go OEM Honda. I do not know of an alternative that does not involve lowering the car. For shocks, I would get OEM Honda (preferred) or whatever is being sold at the auto parts store. For maintenance on an unmodified daily driver, this is more than adequate.