New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

holla new here, I am a total noob when it come to my civic plz help

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2005, 12:26 AM
Default holla new here, I am a total noob when it come to my civic plz help

ok so my dad handed me a 98 civic dx about 2 month ago and sadly its an automatic. I just dont know if i can turn my automatic dx in to somthing that i can race in, i mean i dont even have a RPM meter on my dash board. I have been reading around and frankly I get very confuse with lots of stuff. I would just like to know if I can some how turn my car to perform better. I am welling to probly put in about $2000 in to the car. plz help me!! thx

Old 09-20-2005, 12:33 AM
Default RE: holla new here, I am a total noob when it come to my civic plz help

Are you mechanically inclined? If so, I vote for a auto to manuel conversion.

Old 09-20-2005, 06:11 AM
Laced with Sarcasm

ORIGINAL: LEVIII

Are you mechanically inclined? If so, I vote for a auto to manuel conversion.
definitely, that will be your first step to a better ride. You can work on an automatic car, in fact theres a few around here that are pretty quick, but its highly recommended that you look into trying to make it a stick. Its a lot more fun, and gives you more control over exactly what your car does. Good luck!

Old 09-20-2005, 10:29 AM
HCF Member

I would have to agree although I bought an automatic and since it's a 2005, I will not be putting in a manual transmission. Anyway, the auto tranny doesn't shift whenever I want it to shift and it kind of gets annoying when trying to speed. It's not broken or anything, it's just that's the way it is.

I'm seriosly thinking about buying another one but with manual transmission and leave the auto to the wife.

Oh, Welcome to HCF!

Old 09-20-2005, 10:38 AM
Jas