New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

getting started

Old 07-31-2005, 12:24 PM
Default getting started

Hey,

As I mentioned in my previous post I'm a super newbie who does not know anything about cars but wants to learn everything he can because this seems like a fun hobby. I've been reading a lot of stuff, but I figure the only way I can really learn is to get hands on experience. I've been thinking of eventually going down to a junk yard and looking for an older more beat up engine that is the same or similar to my car (93 2 Door Civic DX) and then taking it home taking it apart, cleaning it, then putting it back together. I don't have a garage and I live in a small 2 bedroom apartment. I was just wondering if you guys think I could get a similar engine for $200 or less. Eventually when i start modding I want to do the mods on the junkyard engine first just to see how it'll work. Are there any holes in this plan that I'm not thinking of and do you guys think this is a good idea to get started or to much to fast? I appreciate your help thx

CaRFRo

Old 07-31-2005, 12:31 PM
Default RE: getting started

When Pick and Pull has it half price sell you should be able to pick one up for around 150 bucks.

When you say put it back together do you think it will run again?

Old 07-31-2005, 02:09 PM

ORIGINAL: LEVIII

When Pick and Pull has it half price sell you should be able to pick one up for around 150 bucks.

When you say put it back together do you think it will run again?
Thanks for your response.