New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

VTEC???

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2005, 11:12 AM
Default VTEC???

Hi everyone/anyone,

I am totally new to Civics.What is VTEC? Does every Honda period have a "VTEC" engine? Or,is VTEC a special...sort of upgraded version of the 1.7L SOHC i the EX Civ? Please educate me o this!

Thanks

Old 01-26-2005, 11:20 AM
Default RE: VTEC???

VTEC is a variable Valve Timing and Electronic lift Control module. Its an electronic system which changes the lift and duration of valves opening and closing based on RPM, so that at any different area in the power band the engine is operating at an 'optimal' level. Many other companies have since marketed variable valve timing engines, such as toyota for example, and their VVT-i system.

Old 01-26-2005, 11:28 AM

I understand VTEC but whats the difference between VTEC and i-VTEC?

Old 01-26-2005, 11:50 AM

That im not sure on. I would think its probably an updated, more efficient, version of the system which has been in production since what, 93ish?
Perhaps one of the more knowledgeable honda guys would step in and I could learn something.

Old 01-26-2005, 12:01 PM

Well, thats what i thought, but the 99 SI's came stock with 160 hp and it's a 1.6L. The newer SI's are 2.0L and still are spec'ed at 160 hp. I don't know if that number is just understated on purpose or what the deal is.

Old 01-26-2005, 01:48 PM

Oooooh okay, so when I see a Civic with VTEC in huge lettering on the side of the car...it is just somebody being a VTEC fan,right? I thought it was representative of like...hey look world I have the suped up version of a particular make of Civic. Well,apparently not. Thanks Grim.

Old 01-26-2005, 02:08 PM

ORIGINAL: VW/CIVIC