New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Newbie here,but not to Hondas

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2017, 07:48 PM
HCF Member
Default Newbie here,but not to Hondas

I thought I'd do a proper intro here, as I'm also on HAF, and do my own work on my cars. I've also been helping my son on his 98 Civic. In fact right now we've got the engine and trans out of it, and the engine torn down (spun a bearing, #4 to be exact) to be rebuilt. It's going to the machine shop Friday afternoon. He's actually trying to get me to pick up a friend of his's 99 Civic with a blown motor in it. I have thought about getting it, but what I want to do is put my Toyota engine and trans (out of my Corolla clone Geo Prizm), as that car is very hard to get parts for (body wise). I've seen people doing K swaps, and the Toyota engine layout is very similar. I realize most here might not like the thought of cross breading the 2, but I do like the twin cam of the Toyota engine. From looking at the empty engine bay, it should fit right in there with no real issues other than making up some custom engine mounts, and maybe building some hybrid CV joints. It'll be running on an OBD I system, and using most if not all of the Toyota fuel injection system and wiring. My intention is to mainly use the car for winter use, and as a back up car for my wife.

Any thoughts??

Old 10-31-2017, 10:20 PM
HCF Member