Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

Best Rim and Tire Size

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 06:12 AM
Default Best Rim and Tire Size

Please help me as I am a newbie.

What is the best rim and tire size for a 2005 civic DX? Looking for style but want to maintain performance and gas mileage.

Thnx,

G

Old 08-03-2007, 08:10 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: Best Rim and Tire Size

ORIGINAL: tranced_1973

Please help me as I am a newbie.

What is the best rim and tire size for a 2005 civic DX? Looking for style but want to maintain performance and gas mileage.

Thnx,

G
A 20x2 and a bicycle tire. Your mileage will double and it'll cutturns in fresh snow like an iceskate. Hydroplaning will be non-existent.Your speedo/odo should be pretty close to accurate, as the overall tire diameter will still be around 23.5", and the style will be unique in your town. Be sure to use Slime in the tube to help resist flats.

Seriously, just read a few of the other threads going or use the search feature.

Old 08-05-2007, 07:43 AM
Super Cereal Admin

^ el oh el.

but seriously, what exactly do you want? There's pros and cons to almost every wheel size:

15's:
Pros: usually lightweight/some 15's are as low as 11lbs each!/Ride quality is not sacrificed
Cons: lightweights are expensive/thin spokes (and several other spoke designs) look odd

16's:
Pros: usually light-ish./Good mix of looks and performance/pretty much look good with any spoke design
Cons: not quite as light as 15's./really common (personally, I consider this a con)

17's
Pros: they look really cool (imo)/some of the biggest wheels you can fit on civics with minimal rubbing issues
Cons: heavy (if an extra 3lbs per wheel actuallyconcerns you)/speedo will be 3% slow, even with correctly sized tires/some rubbing issues if the car is lowered without rolled fenders

18's
Pros: They look awesome/look great on show cars