Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Amp installation

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2007, 12:27 AM
Default Amp installation

I'm a complete noob self learning car audio installer in my spare time and I have got the basics sorted so today I went and got some new 6"x9"s 100W RMS and have picked a suitable amp (Clearly 100W x 2 RMS to match). Is it a case of head unit to amp using the speaker wire, then amp to speakers using speaker wire again, or do I need to use RCAs somehow? I have totally no idea where to start. A DIY section would be really good for wiring an amp with speakers. Or if someone would be willing to give me a fairly detailed explaination, I'd be more than happy to document and photograph my installation and make a DIY to put up. Cheers.

Old 02-22-2007, 01:04 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: Amp installation

im not entirely sure how to amp speakers.. (as ive only installed subs) but im pretty sure you're gunna need to run RCA wires from the head to the amp. then just simple speaker wire from the amp to the speakers. it should be that simple but im not entirely sure. im sure someone here will correct me. but thats how i would do it.

Old 02-22-2007, 01:10 AM
HCF Member

Go to wal mart and buy a amp install kit it will have all that you need.

power from the batter directly to the amp(with a inline fuse)
ground for the amp to a good solid grounding point(try to keep it under 18 inches)
rca cables to go from the cd player to the amp
and a acc wire that will cut the amp on and off when your car key turns on

Do not cross your power and ground and try to not cross your rca's over either the ground or power. Use good connectors, never just tape......solder, heat shrink, then tape. The wiring in general will go under the outer lip of your carput after you take the door sills off. Do not drive any screws through the power wire, measure 2,3,4 times and cut once.