Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

help with ohms!

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2007, 07:32 AM
HCF Member
Default help with ohms!

im not good with ohms when it comes to this

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-NVeRLBL...sp?i=575PL2212

would those subs and this amp

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-NVeRLBL...mp;I=489AP1200

if everything was the same ohmage i would be fine i just don't get the ohms

the subs are single voice coil 8 ohms and the amp is 200x2 at 4 ohms?

Old 08-26-2007, 10:37 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: help with ohms!

As far as I can tell, you should be fine... as long as you can wire each sub separately to each channel of the amp, since if you bridged the system, you could be over-powering the subs...
Someone with more knowledge will be along shortly to tell you any specifics about these components...

Mr^Man

Old 08-26-2007, 11:09 AM

crutchfield is waaaaaaay overpriced. What are your goals/budget and I can help you choose a system for your needs

Edit. Those subs can be wired in series for a single 4 ohm load on the amp. Just go postitive to positive and negative to negative.

Old 08-26-2007, 11:29 AM
HCF Member

ORIGINAL: kokasian

Edit. Those subs can be wired in series for a single 4 ohm load on the amo. Just go postitive to positive and negative to negative.
P-to-P and N-to-N is parallel, not series, which would, as you say, give 4ohms... the reason I recommended against it is because the amp pushes 600Wrms into 4ohms, and the subs can only handle 200Wrms each, for 400Wrms total... each sub to its own channel on the amp gives 200Wrms to it, which matches its power handling capacity.

(as an aside, series would be N of sub 1 toP of sub 2, then amp P to sub 1 P, and amp N to sub 2 N... which would give 16ohms total, and only about 150Wrms into the pair, if I'm not mistaken)

Mr^Man

Old 08-26-2007, 11:59 AM
HCF Member