Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.

Detailing Sprays

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 10:11 AM
HCF Member
Default Detailing Sprays

Ok, I've seen a few people post about the new "ICE" detailing spry by Turtle Wax. I've been using detail sprays for almost 10 years now. I started out with PPC which I found at "Back to the 50's" cars show back in '96. I still think that works great but it is not as easy to find. I've also used Wizard, Meguires, Car Brite, 3M and just last night I bought a bottle of the ICE. I've been using Meguires because it works well and you can buy it just about anywhere but I love trying out new products. First thing I noticed about the ICE was that it was $3 more than the Meguires....that may vary by location but at Checker Auto parts that was the price. I applied it to the car as I would any detail spray....It sprays out almost like a fine foam. Not sure if that is better but most the other sprays come out in a fine mist covering the paint more evenly. It has a great smell unlike the Meguires but I'm not buying an air freshener so who cares what it smells like as long as it works. It does produce a good shine but it seems to take more wiping than Meguires or the PPC. Wizard sucked and I didn't even finish the bottle. Car Brite was nothing special either and seemed to streak easy. 3M = $$$. It's very possible that the sprays will work better if used on a car that has been waxed with the same product line...though I not about to try that. I have been waxing with P21S and have used only Meguires and the ICE on this car. I have not used the others in some time though I would like to pick up some more of the PPC stuff.

If anyone else has used a few different detail sprays and really likes one let me know.

Old 04-27-2006, 01:24 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Detailing Sprays