ECU Tuning & Fuel Management Discuss electronics and related components within.

Computer burnt while driving. Which to replace with? Advice on troubleshooting needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2009, 05:48 PM
Default Computer burnt while driving. Which to replace with? Advice on troubleshooting needed

Hello to everyone. I need your help in troubleshooting my issue.

I have a 94 Del Sol DOHC Vtec with 235,000 miles and today a capacitor in the ECU was burnt. I was driving with cruise control on at 70mph in and suddenly the engine died. Quick thinking let me coast off the highway and onto a residential street. The smell of burnt electronics was obvious.

I took apart the interior sniffing around and finally traced it to the ECU. I have a lot of Subaru and Toyota experience but my Honda knowledge is lacking. Here is an example image with the capacitor in question highlighted.

I have multiple questions.
I am wondering if the capacitors age caused it to fail or if there is a short somewhere? One leg of the cap connects to multiple ground pins on the ECU plug but I can't easily identify where else it connects.

Does anyone on this forum have experience with the internals of the ECU who could help me determine what caused the burnt capacitor (if it wasnt a short inside the capacitor itself)?

I did quite a bit of searching before posting this thread and it seems that most of the 89+ OBD1 ECU are interchangeable. If this is true could I get any random ECU with the same plugs and try it in my car as a test, to see if it will burn out again? I'd hate to get the right replacement ECU and have it also get damaged.