Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

12's sohc v-tec

  #1  
Old 01-11-2005, 09:29 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 703
Default 12's sohc v-tec

hey check it out i got a d16y7 v-tec motor that im going to put in my 91 civic and i was wondering what can i do to get my sohc motor to run v-tec but with out nos i want to go all motor thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-2005, 01:06 PM
NTX
NTX is offline
HCF Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,952
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

ORIGINAL: hondabboy

........i got a d16y7 v-tec motor that im going to put in my 91 civic.....
you mean a y8?
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-2005, 03:09 PM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,720
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

Where have I seen this before?

Oh yeah....
https://www.hondacivicforum.com/m_14408/tm.htm

Please don't post the same question twice. Gracias.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:26 PM
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 964
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

no it is a y7...
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:37 PM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,720
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

If it is a Y7 then he's gona need a Y8 head cuz Y7's don't have vtec.
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-2005, 09:05 PM
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 964
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

im not sure what the deal is....i saw the head and it is vtec
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-2005, 09:07 PM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,720
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

u sure? Maybe he's already got the Y8 head on there cuz im 99.9999999% positive that the Y7 doesn't have vtec.
 
  #8  
Old 01-11-2005, 11:46 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,699
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

u sure? Maybe he's already got the Y8 head on there cuz im 99.9999999% positive that the Y7 doesn't have vtec.
youre right, but he may already have the mini-me.
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:57 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

Maybe he's already got the Y8 head on there
That sounds like the only thing he could have done...
 
  #10  
Old 01-12-2005, 01:02 PM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 241
Default RE: 12's sohc v-tec

I really dont think y7 has vtec and y8 does, and its hard to say I got alot of friends say i dont kgot vtec cause it does not say but there is a sensor and it kicks in right about 5 and half, loud.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 12's sohc v-tec


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.