Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

2000 Civic LX: Chassis vibration, CELs indicate misfires

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2009, 01:03 PM
Default 2000 Civic LX: Chassis vibration, CELs indicate misfires

Hey all, been reading for a few weeks and decided to join. I am only beginning to venture into some DIY, pretty good at figuring things out, interested in learning more.

I was wondering if anyone had a few seconds to give a top-of-head thought on this - only read on if you enjoy this kind of thing, I like giving lots of details!

I have a 2000 Civic LX, about 164K, still with original engine. I started seeing CEL a few months ago, have had it examined a few times at Honda dealership and at an AutoZone, learned that there are several misfire codes, and all cylinders were found. The CEL flashes almost at every idle and every so often when driving.

I have noticed vibration - it is heavy in idle and when driving at low speed in a gear. I have found when I accelerate or drive high speed in a gear it does not vibrate much at all.

Recently consulting with a friend who has some mechanical experience I have changed my spark plug wires and just had a dealership change my plugs today (I don't want to mess around too much until I have more time to really learn without missing work days). I also had opened the distributor cap and found one very light grayish streak inside. I've never seen a good picture of a carbon track so I don't know if it is one or not. I didn't try wiping it off before putting it back on (should have). I also am now two days into a fresh tank of gas with a full can of Sea Foam applied.