Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

affordable engine mods

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2007, 01:50 AM
Default affordable engine mods

yes, i'm a noob. ive been reading up on may forums and decided to join one finally.

i drive a 2000 iced teal pearl civic lx sedan(d16y7) auto (was my sister's now is mine)

so far the engine mods i have are:
SRI
4-2-1 Headers (no cat) with heat wrap
stock piping header back to custom exhaust (a-spec muffler)
tb spacer
iridium plugs
low resistance plug wires
tb bypass (redirects coolant around the tb)
ground kit with voltage stabilizer
royal purple synthetic oil

and i believe thats all.

now the reason for the post:

I WANT MORE POWER! i want what everyone wants, MORE! lol

in all seriousness, i want more power to be decently quick, reliable (since it my daily driver), fun to drive, and be able to take to the track a few times. in short, i want to have good passing power when i mash it, not just make noise.

agian i want something affordable, and have thought of a a y8 head, but dont wanna mess around with electronics of the ECU(since i would need an ECU with a vtec controller). i have thought of turbo and s/c but its outta my league. ive thought of nitrous, bout 50 shot mAX(dont kno if it makes up of a difference or if my engine is set up for it) i think i would like internals but i probably would have to have a shop do it for me, and i'd rather do things myself. im not sure if im capable of doing internals correctly since i have only a general concept of how everything works, but not the experience.

my friends got into fixin up their cars cuz of me and i like it, but i dont like how my friends cars are not only better but faster than mine too [sm=boohoo.gif]

oh, and maybe i should mention i only have a bit over 42,000 miles on the whole car. [sm=happybounce.gif]

so please if anyone can help out with ideas, thoughts, or anything else, i'd really appreciate it

Old 10-10-2007, 06:41 AM