Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

B18C1 Swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2006, 01:35 AM
Default B18C1 Swap

Alright i'm 21 and i've owned my 98 Civic LX for 5 years now, she's pushing 160k miles and i'm thinking it's time for an engine swap. I have very little experience working on cars, but I enjoy installing stereo's and i'm intrested in learning to do this swap myself. My ultimate goal is to turbo the car. According to my research through these forums, my best bet for boost would be to get a B18C1 USDM GSR Engine and add a b16b head in order to lower compression. I'm probably just going to buy a engine swap book and try to figure it out as I go along, my paps said he'd help me but he knows less than I do about cars so i'll have a helping hand, but no mentor. After I get the B18C1 USDM up and running correctly i'll save for rods / pistons / maybe a type R exhaust cam and then turbo kit which i'll attempt to install myself as well.

Right now the AC compressor on the car is broke, and i'm debating if I should replace it or wait till I do the swap? I deliver pizza's in Louisiana so I'm going to have to get my AC back since summers pretty much here now. I'm pretty sure I can keep my AC with a boosted B18C1 so someone please correct me if i'm wrong.

If anyone has any helpful suggestions i'd appreciate it... Is this the best engine for my money to boost? Also if anyone knows of any decent tuning facilities near Louisiana just let me know.

Thanks,

Matt

Old 04-23-2006, 01:49 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: B18C1 Swap