Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

  #1  
Old 02-03-2006, 08:08 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 23
Default d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

I got an 98 model ek hatchback and is that possible to swap my d14a4 with a b16a2.
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:14 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 7,702
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

d14a4? what country are you from? ive never heard of that engine. all EK hatches either came with d16y7s or d16y8s. at least to my knowlege
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-2006, 04:54 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,010
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????


ORIGINAL: Nail I3unny

d14a4? what country are you from?
german or soviet?
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:51 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 7,702
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

well researching the topic...it looks like you could swap a b16a2 fairly easily into this car. im not sure what else to say until i research it some more.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:21 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,010
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

its still a civic body, right? so the question really is only about wiring, can you tell us what ecu that car has? everything i found is either in russian or german.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:32 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

ı lıve ın turkey and my rıdes pics are ın the member photo gallerys fırst page you can see ın there
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-2006, 04:02 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 7,702
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

im pretty sure a b16 will be more or less a drop in. you will need some HASport mounts for a hatch, shift linkage, and you might have to drill a few holes in your firewall for some vtec wires.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:17 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

hmm ı thınk ıt's lookın' possıble and now ı fınd a vtec engıne and tomorrow ı m goıng to look the engıne.ı thınk my 90 hp "1.4 is" will be a "1.6 vtec".
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:03 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,010
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????

in attempts to get my swap completed ive ran into a few trouble spots, mostly from improper planning, the main thing though was the wiring. now ive done so much research on ecu's i can almost give a seminar, lol. let me know what ecu that you have and i can try to find a wiring diagram for you, if i dont already have it..
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:14 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????


ORIGINAL: jwsimons

in attempts to get my swap completed ive ran into a few trouble spots, mostly from improper planning, the main thing though was the wiring. now ive done so much research on ecu's i can almost give a seminar, lol. let me know what ecu that you have and i can try to find a wiring diagram for you, if i dont already have it..
how should ı know which ecu ı've got.i dont know anything about my ecu.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: d14a4 to b16a2 motor swap????????


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.