Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

H23..

Old 06-24-2004, 12:04 PM
Default H23..

so i was cruisin the bay (ebay [8D] ) and found a guy sellin a 92 prelude h23 dohc...he says it's in good cond...would that fit in my 97 dx hatch? any opinions on the motor? it's at just under 450 right now...just curious as to your guys's input. thanks.

peace
nate

Old 06-24-2004, 03:17 PM
Default RE: H23..

I am no expert but from what I have heard from some that claim to be tell me this.

The H series are a bit larger than the D or B series and you will have to remove your A/C and I believe relocate or remove your P/S as well. The H23 only has something like 160HP. You would probably be better off getting a B16 series with about the same amount of HP but you will not lose the A/C or P/S and I believe it weights less.

Again - This is not fact, just what I have heard from others that do have some knowledge on the subject.

Old 06-25-2004, 07:08 PM

ORIGINAL: 99civic_boosted

I am no expert but from what I have heard from some that claim to be tell me this.

The H series are a bit larger than the D or B series and you will have to remove your A/C and I believe relocate or remove your P/S as well. The H23 only has something like 160HP. You would probably be better off getting a B16 series with about the same amount of HP but you will not lose the A/C or P/S and I believe it weights less.

Again - This is not fact, just what I have heard from others that do have some knowledge on the subject.
there will be no chance of a/c, power steering pump has to be relocated or removed. the h23 maybe low on hp but it makes it up in tq. also the h23 block can be mated to the h22 head for a vtec combo. ive seen few dyno sheets on this set up pushing close to 195whp and 160ish tq. but with the added weight of this block comes longer braking distance, oversteer, and less gas milage.

Old 07-03-2004, 10:33 AM

ORIGINAL: lilol89crx