Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

help some one please or everyone....

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2010, 08:14 AM
Default help some one please or everyone....

ok i have a 92 civic dx i'm new to the jdm i had a camaro for awhile.... well i don't know where to start i have been reading few things here and there is there any cheap mods i can do.... and also what would be better with a d15b7 engine.... mini me swap or a turbo kit????

Old 01-21-2010, 09:39 AM
HCF Member

I just did a mini swap. I like it so far. But if you have the money I say go straight d16z6 top and bottom, and then turbo it. You can spend money like I did on intake and header for little gains. But if you want to turbo, there's no need in wasting your money on those things since they will be removed in order to turbo it.

Old 01-21-2010, 10:09 AM
HCF Member

mini-me then turbo don't waste your money on anything till you have made up your mind ive got a aem cold air intake and it was just a waste of money being that after i do my mini-me i have to change intakes anyhow. and don't get an exhaust till you decide on the turbo because you will have to change the header/manifold for it to be turboed

Old 01-21-2010, 03:44 PM

ok so mini-me then turbo it after i lower the compression in the cylinders...so no cold air intake or exahust yet... but would it be a good idea to get a catback or wait for that till after the turbo.... and is there anything else that i can do to it i have an automatic tranny...

Old 01-21-2010, 04:53 PM
Chubby Chaser

yes get rid of the auto tranny swap it to a manual, the auto trans will NOT hold up to turbo.

Old 01-21-2010, 05:03 PM
HCF Member

yup swap to a manual tranny and you can get a cat back exhaust.

Old 01-21-2010, 05:15 PM