Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Need some advice! D16Y8

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2010, 08:02 PM
Default Need some advice! D16Y8

Hey there, im new to the single cams.... not to cars or hondas really tho. Anyhow, so i just got a 97 civic dx. D16Y8 non vtec. w a bad trans, im replaceing that as we speak....

So my dilema is....

Is the y8 head better or worse than the z6 vtec head/intake i have? Would it be worth swapping or can it be done? I plan on doing the obd2-obd1 harness conv. unless its better to stay obd2 for some reason. Also, end result is prbly mild turbo build. Just a dd with around 200whp would make me happy.

So, lemme know what you guys think!!! Thank you

Old 09-21-2010, 08:07 PM
HCF Member

there is no d16y8 non-vtec, what you have is the d16y7 but no biggie

iirc, the z6 head is better but the y8 mani is better, let someone confirm though

and yes, get a conversion harness and a p28 ecu (p06 if you stay non -vtec)

Old 09-21-2010, 09:12 PM

Thank you! Ya, i just went out to look at it. It is a y7 motor. Ive been doing so much research and i must have gotten confussed! lol

Ok, so how would i confirm which vtec head i do have then?? Like a part no. location or something?? Im not familiar w the single cams, my buddy is helping me as much as he can but he has mostly h and b knowledge, learning exp. for both of us! haha

Old 09-21-2010, 09:26 PM
HCF Member

Originally Posted by xb2fergie
Thank you! Ya, i just went out to look at it. It is a y7 motor. Ive been doing so much research and i must have gotten confussed! lol

Ok, so how would i confirm which vtec head i do have then?? Like a part no. location or something?? Im not familiar w the single cams, my buddy is helping me as much as he can but he has mostly h and b knowledge, learning exp. for both of us! haha
One thing that can tell if a head is vtec or not is if the spark plugs are on the front.