Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

need some torque

  #1  
Old 10-15-2004, 08:18 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location:
Posts: 12
Default need some torque

i was wondering if anyone know how i can get some torque outta my automatic. i would like to drop a 5spd in it, but i dont have the time or money. my buddies tell me to get a turbo, but that cost more than a 5spd trans.
 
  #2  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: need some torque

I don't know what you consider a lot of money, but I think you would do well to chuck a 5spd in there. You could get one imported for 200-250 no prob, and you could sell your auto to make up for most of it. Plus, an auto to 5spd conversion is really easy. Also, do a valve adjustment on your car; that will help a lot. A couple things about that: ONLY DO IT WHEN THE CAR IS COLD, and make sure you have a good manual and a good gapper so you don't really deuce things up. Good luck in your torque quest.
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-2004, 07:06 PM
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,639
Default RE: need some torque

$200-250 for a manual conversion? Damn, now I'm wondering wether I should do it on my older corolla. Have you done it before? If so, is it a direct bolt-on, and is it hard to put in a clutch pedal? I saw the same kind of car that I have in the junkyard earlier this week with a 5spd. What part will I need besides the obvious ones?
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-2004, 07:11 PM
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,639
Default RE: need some torque

MXPUNK409:

If you are serious about tuning, you should definately convert to a 5spd, because the auto will never be as fast, and you will f*** it up pretty fast with a turbo.
 
  #5  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:08 PM
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 964
Default RE: need some torque

i have an auto tranny in my 91 hatch..soon to have a manual converion...i plan on pickin up the stuff if not a full donor car for the conversion...you need more then just the tranny but yea if you know a little its not bad..id much rather find a cheap donor car so i know definatly where everything goes but we will see...that is my next job after i put the vtec head and y8 intake manifold on...
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-2004, 10:31 AM
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,639
Default RE: need some torque

Do you know, which parts are needed specifically? From my understanding, I will need a tranny, shifter assembly, clutch and a brake pedal, master and slave cylinders, shifter linkage, and hard lines. Anything else?
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:23 PM
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 964
Default RE: need some torque

not positive on everything but that sounds about right...i will find out for you..unless someone on here beats me to it...
 
  #8  
Old 12-05-2004, 02:57 PM
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,639
Default RE: need some torque

dude, you're awesome, but after some searching on the internet, I am leaning more toward swapping a Silvertop 4age into my corolla. I might even go further and get a 4GZE, if I could find one (a supercharged version of 4age)
 
  #9  
Old 12-05-2004, 06:34 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,699
Default RE: need some torque

mmm, 4 age.
 
  #10  
Old 12-06-2004, 12:08 AM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Default RE: need some torque

How much would a good manual conversion cost me, and could i do this conversion myself or is it safest to just get it done somewhere else.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: need some torque


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.