HondaCivicForum.com

HondaCivicForum.com (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   performance or swap?? (https://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/performance-swap-63139/)

Turbonator! 03-27-2008 01:05 PM

performance or swap??

I am new to civics and have not looked back since getting mine.

I have a 2001 civic dx coupe with
2" lowering springs
17"wheels
custom 2.5 exhaust with 4.5 out
aem v2 short ram

I want to make it faster but,Im new in the field of hondas so I just putmodded the obvious.

its a stock motor.. what should the next step be in getting more passing power? is a swap the best thing to do? or is there a better way to get performance out of this stock motor?

all input appreciated!

reaper2022 03-27-2008 01:24 PM

RE: performance or swap??

unfortunately since you have an '01, the only legal swap (technically you can't legally swap an engine into a car if the engine is older than the chassis) of any real value would be a k20, which is quite a bit of money. If you have $5k to throw at your car, I say go for it (get a k20a2... you can't go wrong with 200hp and 6 gears:D ).

Turbonator! 03-27-2008 01:28 PM

little outta price range haha. do you suggest headers?

reaper2022 03-27-2008 01:43 PM

it's header, there's only one (no "s");). Anyway, yeah, it'll help, but it's not going to be noticeable.. you might see 5hp or so. Honestly, I'd say keep looking around for a 5-speed transmission. It'll be the best thing you can do for performance.

ninety7_civic 03-28-2008 07:53 AM

well i would suggest getting a vtec head from an ex model cus i dont think any of the dx came with vtec that would make a noticable diffrence thats if im right and you dont have that vtechead already. and also that 5 speed tranny if you have an auto.

Aaron_EX 03-28-2008 08:10 AM

ORIGINAL: ninety7_civic