Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

RPM Meter Add-On. Good Or Bad?

  #1  
Old 08-30-2009, 06:46 PM
JayVee's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 888
Arrow RPM Meter Add-On. Good Or Bad?

Hi, im getting a 99' civic pretty soon and im most likely sure its a dx now since it doesnt have power locks/windows but it seems to me that there as well isnt a tachometer (RPM meter).

Im wondering if getting an add-on of one would be good for me, uhm im 18, 1st yr. driving stick so i dont want to ruin my mt ya know?

If there are any cheap-to-get could you guide me in the direction of which i should get?

Oh, as well as would it be possible to get one in the cluster itself?

(Example of how the car im getting, cluster looks like)
http://i41.tinypic.com/2cx80mo.jpg

as you can see it only reads water temp, mph, & gas.
would it be possible to get something to remove the water temp make it smaller and put the rpm in there as well?

Sorry im noobish with cars, but practice makes perfect and im a quick learner, thanks guys.
 
  #2  
Old 08-30-2009, 06:50 PM
NIKE H34D's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 3,428
Default

Get the EX gauge cluster.... check my forsale thread........
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-2009, 06:57 PM
JayVee's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 888
Default

Nikehead i saw it but here i got some questions.

1.Is fixing it easy for me to do? (im 18 and not car savvy)
2.Will all the wiring be proper and easy fix? (not need any additional wiring)

As well I still need to make an e-bay acct. lol
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:07 PM
94civichatchback's Avatar
Chubby Chaser
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: whitwell,Tn 37397
Posts: 4,677
Default

a ex cluster will fit into yours. its plug and play no extra wiring needed.
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:11 PM
JayVee's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 888
Default

So if i purchase it, should i get a mechanic to do this for me?
Or is it easy enough for me to do it?

atm, i dont have all the money but i soon will get some and maybe look into purchasing one
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:53 PM
NIKE H34D's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 3,428
Default

Name:  IMAG0017.jpg
Views: 4
Size:  39.3 KB

thats the pic of mine.. I am pretty sure you can just take the white gauges off but I didnt wanna risk breaking any needles so I refuse to touch it hehe.....

40+shipping so probably about 52$ shipped to wherever you live.... and it will plug right in...

A few screws holding you current one in... just unscrew than pull off wires plug those wires into the new one and it should all work fine...

also here is a link to a cluster on ebay that would work too without the ricey white guages...

LINK HERE

also try local junkyards or pull aparts for a an EK and if the cluster is there you can take it...
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-2009, 08:14 PM
94civichatchback's Avatar
Chubby Chaser
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: whitwell,Tn 37397
Posts: 4,677
Default

you can do it but just gotta know how. real easy to do.
1: use a knife or something and pop out your emergency flasher button then unplug it.
now look inside and you will see a hidden screw. next where your gauges are, above them are 2 more screws. now you can pull the passenger side of it out some and on the drivers side there is a clip under the vent you need to stick you knife under. once its removed there will be 4 screws holding the cluster. then pull out and unplug everything from the back of it. then reverse to re-install.
 
  #8  
Old 08-30-2009, 08:19 PM
JayVee's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 888
Default

Nikehead, thanks for that info. Unfortantely at the moment all my money is going into the car then i can look into buying one later. and thanks for the advice on ebay/junkyards ill also check up craigslist as well.

Originally Posted by 94civichatchback View Post
1: use a knife or something and pop out your emergency flasher button then unplug it.
now look inside and you will see a hidden screw. next where your gauges are, above them are 2 more screws. now you can pull the passenger side of it out some and on the drivers side there is a clip under the vent you need to stick you knife under. once its removed there will be 4 screws holding the cluster. then pull out and unplug everything from the back of it. then reverse to re-install.
Is there a DIY tutorial for this, With Photos as well?
(Im still trying to catch on a bit sorry noobish)
 

Last edited by JayVee; 08-30-2009 at 08:22 PM.
  #9  
Old 08-30-2009, 08:25 PM
94civichatchback's Avatar
Chubby Chaser
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: whitwell,Tn 37397
Posts: 4,677
Default

not the greatest but it helps.
http://homepage.mac.com/jafro/PhotoAlbum23.html
 
  #10  
Old 08-30-2009, 08:44 PM
JayVee's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 888
Default

ah i see that helps, only thing im worried is how did he remove the plastic/glass screen protecting the cluster
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: RPM Meter Add-On. Good Or Bad?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.