Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Swap a 98 LX or get a new car?

Old 01-20-2013, 08:07 AM
Default Swap a 98 LX or get a new car?

Okay, has anyone ever swapped a D16y7 for something better? Like put a B18C2 or something like that? (If I got motor numbers wrong, I'm still learning) I'm trying to decide if I want to keep this little car I have stock, or put something to make it a little faster in, or just buy a different car entirely. I noticed the 98 LX's weight is nearly a thousand pounds heavier than a EX coupe. Am I just wasting my time with thinking about a swap or what? If I keep the car the way it is, I am going to get it back up to speed cosmetically and sell it later to get a faster Civic.

Opinions please.

EDIT: Ok, here's what. I might be stuck with this Civic for another year. Its a daily driver, It has over 220,000 on it but is flawless mechanically. I would like something a faster, not a race-car, mind you but something that isn't so painfully slow. I will be driving over 80 miles a day after whatever I decide is done. I have kids, so keeping this would be best but a coupe is not out of the question. I also think that doing a swap in this civic would be a good learning experience, even if I do not keep it afterwards. But as before, I could use some wisdom and or experience.

Old 01-20-2013, 08:46 AM
HCF Member

You can put a d16y8 head on to add vtec, bringing you closer to 130hp.

B series swaps are pretty easy in this chassis. Google EK b series FAQ and you'll probably find what you need.

If racecar, H22 swap.

Old 01-21-2013, 07:44 AM