Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

turbo missing link

  #1  
Old 09-18-2006, 10:54 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 17
Default turbo missing link

i'm turboing my civic, does any one have a missing link for sell.
or is there any other sugestions other than buying a missing link?
 
  #2  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:19 AM
Forty04's Avatar
Laced with Sarcasm
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,279
Default RE: turbo missing link

convert to OBD1, get a tune, run on closed loop
 
  #3  
Old 09-27-2006, 02:50 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 17
Default RE: turbo missing link

I HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT WHAT THAT MEANS.
I HAVE A '98 D16Y8.
WHAT WOULD I BE CONVERTING IT TO?
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:58 PM
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 976
Default RE: turbo missing link

Tuning programs are for OBD1 cars, you have OBD2. Its nothing super technical, just changes in years and how the car controls emissions. You need a harness that will allow your obd2 ecu wire harness to plug into a obd1 computer. You can find a good one on Ebay for around $80. The missing link is just a temporary solution, with a correct tune on a chipped computer, you can run your stock MAP senson and not have to worry about the missing link.
 
  #5  
Old 09-27-2006, 06:22 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 7,168
Default RE: turbo missing link

GM 3 Bar Map Sensor
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:35 AM
Forty04's Avatar
Laced with Sarcasm
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,279
Default RE: turbo missing link


ORIGINAL: turbo_ricer

I HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT WHAT THAT MEANS.
I HAVE A '98 D16Y8.
WHAT WOULD I BE CONVERTING IT TO?
Sorry, I should have been more clear. T34me explained it pretty well. Here is what you're looking for..

Chipped P28 ecu (Or a virgin [unchipped] p28, then send it to someone who can chip it and load a basemap)
OBD2A to OBD1 Conversion Harness (Rywire, a site sponsor sells them for a really good price) CLICK HERE!!
Then once the install is complete, and you get it up and running on the basemap (DO NOT push the car hard on a basemap!) take it to someone who tunes and they'll get you all set up with a closed loop tune.
 
  #7  
Old 09-28-2006, 01:04 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 17
Default RE: turbo missing link

thanks guys.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jason98ex
Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos
2
10-30-2006 01:51 PM
slowcivicdriver
Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos
2
06-28-2006 11:27 PM
97CivicEX
Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos
3
05-01-2006 04:52 PM
riceburner700
Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos
12
10-05-2005 07:27 PM
turbo y7
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
06-07-2005 01:21 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: turbo missing link


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.