Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

vtec help

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2006, 10:21 PM
Default vtec help

hi there im new to hondas so i need some help i have a b18 in my car thats non vtec. so here the question is should i make it vtec or not with a head swap?

Old 10-07-2006, 10:31 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: vtec help

that's really up to you. if you want to do it then go for it. going ls/vtec will make your car faster, but if not built right you will also have a non running car

Old 10-07-2006, 10:41 PM
Cat Fuсker

I wouldn't do a VTEC head...VTEC is not that ig of a deal you know. Up the compression, do some headwork and you'll make comparable power to the GSR with less parts to break.

Old 10-07-2006, 10:43 PM

can i take a b16 vtec head and but it on the b18 and would vtec be better for turbo

Old 10-07-2006, 10:54 PM
HCF Member

you can't just slap it on and call it a day. you have to do it right.

Old 10-07-2006, 11:04 PM

right how please explain

Old 10-07-2006, 11:20 PM
HCF Member

NECESSARY things to do/parts to buy when building a "reliable" lsvtec/b20vtec:

-LS/B20 (same) ARP rod bolts
-GSR/ITR (same) ARP head studs (NON-B17)
-New LS (90-01) B18a/b (for 81mm) or B20 (for 84mm) head gasket or aftermarket for your non-OEM bore
-New ACL LS/B20 (same)
-New Hastings piston rings (or OEM)
-New OEM D/Bseries (same) valve seals
-New OEM Dohc Vtec Bseries (B16/GSR/ITR) 22T water pump
-New OEM P72 GSR/ITR timing belt (not B17)
-New OEM P72 oil pump (94+ GSR, 96+ LS/B20/ITR/B16 - all the same)
-Magnetic oil drain plug (important for break in)
-New NGK V-power BKR6E spark plugs (stock LS pistons) OR NGK V-power BKR7E spark plugs for 11.0-12.0:1 compression, or NGK V-power R5671A-8 plugs for 12.0:1+ compression
-Adjustable Fuel Pressure regulator (necessary for stock ECU/injectors)

Note- "same" means that the listed parts use the same part #'s from HONDA.

Additionally:
-Shotpeen LS rods