Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

what do i need to swap a b20/vtec

  #1  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:07 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: florida/slowcala
Posts: 165
Default what do i need to swap a b20/vtec

i have a 92 coupe and its obd1 i need to kno all the parts and wires that i need for the conversion and the internals that i need to have a reliable engine.
 
  #2  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:26 PM
munkeewrench23's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yay area!!!!
Posts: 215
Default

bseries vtec head, arp head studs, vtec conversion kit (ebay), b20 block, with stock internals it will be reliable just make sure do a pressure leak test on block and head so that its healthy also gsr cams are good for this setup from what ive heard, b16 tranny, obd1 b series dizzy. does your coupe have the d16 vtec the reason im asking is because all the wiring that you would need is the dizzy jumper harness from d to b series.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:27 PM
munkeewrench23's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yay area!!!!
Posts: 215
Default

im doing the same setup but im still saving for my parts...
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:49 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: florida/slowcala
Posts: 165
Default

man i wish it was d16 vtec im running d15b non vtec
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-2009, 08:05 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: florida/slowcala
Posts: 165
Default

and what kind of ecu will be best
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-2009, 09:12 AM
munkeewrench23's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yay area!!!!
Posts: 215
Default

you can run a p28 chipped or gsr ecu, del sol dohc vtec ecu. but youll need a complete engine harness that hasnt been cut from a dohc vtec motor im sure you can find one on craigslist. what do you have so far??
 
  #7  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:35 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: florida/slowcala
Posts: 165
Default

nothing all i got is cash from chirstmas to get what i need.i found a good web site that sells b20 for 450 with less than 45 thousand miles now im tryin to find a tranny and a vtec head.so when ur talking about the wire harness your saying i have to pull out mine and rewire my hole car?
 
  #8  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:48 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: florida/slowcala
Posts: 165
Default

and im so confuesed i dont kno if the engine is obd1 or 2 and if its obd2 what do i have to do?
 
  #9  
Old 01-02-2009, 07:30 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

you don't want obd2 if you can avoid getting it. try to get obd1 if possible. If you get obd2 you can convert to obd1 but it costs more than just having obd1 to begin with.
 
  #10  
Old 01-03-2009, 05:08 AM
315 Customs's Avatar
Administrator - Formerly 90Civtegra
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 2,549
Default

If you have a 92 then its an odb1 car. If your running a SOHC non vtec engine then you need to get a ENGINE harness from a odb1 DOHC engine. This is just to rewire the engine bay not the entire car. Then get your block and track down a vtec head. I recommend a B16 head but a GSR will do fine. If you can afford it get the ITR head. Then you need the LS/Vtec conversion kit. I recommend the Golden Eagle kit, thats what I used and no problems at all so far. You can get the kit with ARP head studs so thats two birds with one stone. If you want to save money then you could just buy the headgasket (get it for the block not the head) and piece together the oil supply line from parts from your local hardwire store. You will also have to machine drill the dowl pin holes on the head if you dont get LS/Vtec dowl pins. So much easier to just buy the whole kit though and deff worth the money! Then you need a Vtec ECU, as munkeewrench23 said your best bet is to just get a socketed and chipped P28 ECU.

Once you have all that then your ready to install. Depending where you get the engine from I would recommend a new timing belt and water pump while your at it.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: what do i need to swap a b20/vtec


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.