Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

z6 and b7 distributor

  #11  
Old 06-04-2009, 03:55 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Yankton SD
Posts: 99
Default

well i havent used the b7 timing belt yet but i was plannig on using it.. i didnt know it had more teath..... i didnt have the z6 head on when the timining slipped...

i havent done any wiring for the vtec yet i was gunna wait till i got the p28....
i wasnt planning on doing the mini-me swap the salvage yard sent me the wrong head so i figured i would just use it since i got it for 75$....how much of a hastle is it to wire the vtec when i get the p28?
 
  #12  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:20 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

There are two wiring harnesses on the VTEC solenoid, with 1 wire on each harness (or you may be missing the harnesses... in that case you'll need to buy some. Junkyard is the best place to look, just get the pigtail harness.

You take those two wires, and run them to their corresponding places ECU. You only need to worry about pins A4 and D6, ignore the rest.





Alternatively, get a 92-95 EX or Si engine wiring harness and swap that in, and plug n' play.
 
  #13  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:41 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Yankton SD
Posts: 99
Default

is there any way to run my own wires from the vtec solenoid to the ecu? so that wat i dont have to go and get the z6 wireharness out of the junk yard??? is lewy rigth about the timing belt haveing 1 less tooth?
 
  #14  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:45 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

Originally Posted by candyman420 View Post
is there any way to run my own wires from the vtec solenoid to the ecu? so that wat i dont have to go and get the z6 wireharness out of the junk yard??? is lewy rigth about the timing belt haveing 1 less tooth?
I just gave you the instructions for how to do that...



Yea, the timing belt is different. I really don't understand, did you buy the head just assuming it would go on and not do any research at all?
 
  #15  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:48 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Yankton SD
Posts: 99
Default

no i ordered a used d15b7 and they sent me a d16z6 so i said screw it and put it on... with out doin some research first...now im having these problems... 75$ and they send me a z6 with the valve cover and solenoid...good deal right?
 
  #16  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:49 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Yankton SD
Posts: 99
Default

and when they get a p28 comuter they send it to me for free for messing up my order...
 
  #17  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:53 PM
trustdestruction's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 11,417
Default

Definitely a good deal.

I am assuming that since you had no knowledge of it beforehand, you didn't remove the oil jet between cylinders 2 and 3 on your D15 block. You will need to do that if you want VTEC to ever work.
 
  #18  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:57 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Yankton SD
Posts: 99
Default

now u tell me that after i got everything back togther sept the distributor??? looks like i will be non vtedc for a while....cant waste the gaskets.....no time or money for this right now i just want it to run....trani needs to come out of my girls 94 civic ex....
 
  #19  
Old 03-11-2019, 10:04 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Default you need a 92-95 vx belt it's 103 teeth the deck height is now different from the swa

Originally Posted by candyman420 View Post
well i took the belt off to put on the z6 head and now its al back together and the belt is really loose... it wasnt before... i dont understand why the timing skipped if the belt wasnt loose before...

no i dont have the z6 distributor... i have the d15b7 distributor... why are they diff?? cuz of the vtec? i dont have a pcm for the vtec so i wasnt gunna hook it up for now...
can i drive it with out the vtec with out hurting it? i have to get a z6 distributor dont i?
you need a 92-95 Honda vx timing belt. the swap you did changed the deck height. you will skip teeth and jump timing if you don't swap the belts. the vx is 103 teeth opposed to the d16 being like 106 or something like that.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
drive_e
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
0
06-11-2006 10:25 PM
drive_e
New Member Introductions
0
06-11-2006 10:01 AM
p_moto2
New Member Introductions
0
05-03-2006 10:24 PM
mONgS2you
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
0
03-16-2005 10:59 PM
addy79
ECU Tuning & Fuel Management
8
01-26-2005 06:41 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: z6 and b7 distributor


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.