General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

I'm Si/LX Civic shopping & have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2007, 05:02 AM
Default I'm Si/LX Civic shopping & have a few questions

I'm new to the forum and just posted an intro post up in the New Member area. Currently in the market for a new car and it's coming down to the Civic and the Mazda 3. Did some test drives yesterday, have done a lot review reading and had some questions. Please feel free to let your comments rip -- I'd really appreciate hearing from the Civic owners here. Sorry in advance for the post length but want to give a good picture.

I've been driving a Lexus ES300 for many years but kids are starting to leave the nest and decided I would like something a little smaller, a bit more fuel efficient, stick shift, and a lot more fun to drive.

Over the last couple of weeks I've test driven a Toyota Matrix, Pontiac Vibe, Scion xD, Civic, and the Mazda 3 (touring edition). Decided the hatchbacks just weren't for me. Yesterday I drove a few different Civics. Started with a new 2007 LX Coupe - very nice but I like the look and the functionality of the 4-door better. So, after driving the Civic LX 4-door 5-speed, I went up the road and drove a 2008 Mazda 3. That 2.3 liter engine is a blast. But the interior didn't fit me as nicely as the Civic, and the fit and finish just didn't seem to be as good as the Civic. But it sure was a hoot to drive! So that prompted me to go back to the Honda dealership and drive a Civic Si. Maybe that was a mistake After 10 miles on street and highway, the first thing that popped into my head was I'd want to move out in the country so I'd have a longer commute!