General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

New to the honda scene

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2009, 02:57 PM
Default New to the honda scene

Hey guys, I just bought a 91 civic dx, first honda i've ever owned. Dont really know much about modding a civic, but I was wondering if a 1st or 2nd gen b16 w/vtec will swap and how much money and work is actually involved. Any help would be awesome. Thanx

Old 04-12-2009, 04:18 PM
HCF Member

Well, first you should decide how much you want to modify your car. Do you just want a vtec motor, or do you want to go turbo? Any reason that you chose a B16 over all the other motors you could swap into that 4th gen of yours?

Old 04-12-2009, 04:56 PM

I do want the vtec, and mabye go turbo down the road, as far as the b16 goes, like I said im kinda new to hondas so I really dont know what my options go as far as swaps are concerned. Any info on that sorta thing would be cool.

Old 04-12-2009, 06:00 PM
HCF Member

well doing a b16 or b18 swap is not too hard. And as for costs, it varies. I can have a local performance shop do the swap for me for $4500. But if you feel like doing it all yourself, you can do it for cheap. I know of a few b16's for sale for like $1500. And thats with trans and ECU. If you do the swap, your going to have to change from OBD0 to OBD1. I think OBD1 is the best for doing a turbo swap, but everyone has their own opinions about it.

Old 04-12-2009, 06:13 PM

thanx. yea im doin all the work myself. would a head swap be more bang for the buck right now? im low on funds and if itll give me a considerable hp gain im down for that.

Old 04-12-2009, 07:10 PM
HCF Member