General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

NEWBIE ON THE BLOCK

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2008, 02:04 PM
HCF Member
Default NEWBIE ON THE BLOCK

Ok im new in the block ... i have a 99 civic ex and I already started some modifications already.
I installed a generic short ram just to get the feel of it and now planning to install NGK plugs and wires,
grounding kit, and just recently purchased a full Megan exhaust...Now my question is, will it help at least
horsepowerwise if I install a SKUNK2 intake manifold and throttle body??? Any suggestions with this
issue?

Old 01-21-2008, 02:10 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: NEWBIE ON THE BLOCK

I would go edelbrock over skunk2 for the intake manifold I've heard mixed things about the skunk2 intake mani. But yea you def would notice a difference nothing huge powerwise. just got to make sure that the intake manifold and the throttlebody have the same diameter hole. Or else you will lose power instead of gain.

For the amount of money those products will cost you, youminus well save up for a turbo kit. That will give the d16y8 more power in the long run.

Don't forget to research on here you will find most of the info you need.

Old 01-21-2008, 02:26 PM
HCF Member

Thats a good advise thanks for the quick reply....I will keep that in mind but you know what? I might have forgotten
to post that I only have a 99 civic ex sohc type engine? Im not looking to power up the car like other guys have. Im just looking
to add a bit of power on it. Do you have any suggestion??? A friend of mine told me that it would be perfect if I can do an
engine swap... I know it would be great...But for now this is my direction, just to fix up this 99 civic ex sohc....any tips??

Old 01-21-2008, 02:36 PM
HCF Member