General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

p1259 code

  #1  
Old 01-20-2010, 10:20 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default p1259 code

I have a 97 civic and its pulling a p1259 witch is a vtec malfunction but I dont have a vtec it a basic 1.6
Can anybody help me?
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-2010, 10:40 AM
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10,023
Default

Wrong ECU installed? That is what would happen with a VTEC ECU and a non-VTEC engine. When you hit 5500 rpm and it tries to engage the VTEC, it will realize there is a problem.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-2010, 12:39 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

would that cause it not to shift after passing. I go to pass and it down shifts but have to let of the gas for it to shift? It is a ex so should it have a vtec?
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-2010, 12:57 PM
RonJ's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 9,453
Default

If you have an automatic transmission, then the ECU also may be for a manual transmission.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-2010, 03:59 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I checked the ecu it is a P2P. I looked it up and says its for my car. could it just be a oil switch? I know if it read low or no oil then it will kick a code.
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:09 AM
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10,023
Default

It will say "VTEC" in big letters on the valve cover if it is. On the VTEC engine there is a solenoid and pressure switch on the back (intake side) of the head near cylinder #4. If someone has replaced the engine with a non-VTEC one there might still be wires there that don't go anywhere now. Or they could have swapped the engine harness too, it usually comes with a used engine when you buy one.

After the CEL has tripped on, the ECU will operate in "limp home" mode which reduces some performance aspects. The engine will not rev above 5000 rpm. It may also affect the shifting of the automatic.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:59 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

yes is has a basic sohc 1.6. so if I get a ecu out of like a dx with a sohc 1.6 I should be good to go? i will get pics up today.
 
  #9  
Old 01-21-2010, 06:07 AM
Dipsetcivic117's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: City of Champs
Posts: 826
Default

well all civic in that year came with a basic 1.6. the only difference was the vtec. did you valve cover say vtec on it. if not then yes, you will need a new ecu. which is p2e. but first check if your engine is vtec or not.
 
  #10  
Old 01-21-2010, 07:11 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

its a non vtec so That would mean i need the p2e ecu?
and that should fix the shifting problem to?
 
Attached Thumbnails p1259 code-image001.jpg  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: p1259 code


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.