General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Plans for my Civic EX

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2008, 04:02 PM
HCF Member
Default Plans for my Civic EX

So I'm graduating college in about 3 months and I have a nice job lined up as a software developer, which means I will have money and time. I've been working on and driving Civics for about 11 yearsand I have some ideas I want to run past you guys for a project I have been planning for a long time...

I want to keep it legal, and I want to keep it comfortable as it will still serve as a daily driver. I also like the "sleeper" concept, and I'm not so much on the Bling factor. Keeping this in mind...

Model/Trim:
1999 Honda Civic EX Coupe EJ8 Black
5 Speed Manual

Engine/Drive train:
Swap in a B18C or B18C5 OBDII - Complete swap ecu, trans, block, everything...
New Pistons, Rods, Rings, & Head gasket (if needed)
Stage 1 Clutch
Lightweight Flywheel
Adjustable Cam Gears
Plug Wires
Performance Radiator
AEM Ram Intake
4-1 Exhaust Manifold
High Flow Cat (Not sure if I can get away with this in California)

Suspension/Braking:
Drop the car 1.5"-1.8" with Tein S-Tech Springs & Tein Shocks
Convert the rear brakes from drum to disk
Drilled disks all around
16" Rims but haven't decided on which

Interior/Exterior:
Short Throw Shifter
A set of gauges
Clean up the dents and a new paint job
A set of GSR Seats
Halo Projectors with a HID kit

I'm stuck on the fence between boosting it or keeping it NA... If I decide to boost it will need a lot more internals for the engine. But starting off these are the changes that I was thinking of doing.

I have never done anything like this before, so I am putting faith in you guys cause I know you have So if you have suggestions on brands of parts to use, mods that I should consider, experience with a similar setup, or simply suggestions I'd greatly appreciate your comments and inputs.

Thanks!