General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

tire skidding

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2007, 10:10 AM
Default tire skidding

hey all....i'm pretty new to the manual aspect. sometimes when i gas too much and pull off the clutch a tad bit too quickly..my tires skid like i'm about to race someone. is that bad for my tires? it's a short skid..i'm not burning rubber. also, is there a way u can preserve ur clutch's life length? my car is brand new but i want to keep it nice

Old 08-09-2007, 10:42 AM
Default RE: tire skidding

well ur tire skid becasue ur changin gears at an high rpm so when ur tire pick up traction is make that chirps noise. its not necessarly bad. by the way nice civic si u have there.

Old 08-09-2007, 12:38 PM

cool. thank u thank u. i love it.[:'(]

Old 08-09-2007, 12:41 PM

just keep learning manual. let the clutch out slower and be more easy on the gas and u wont squeek the tires.

Old 08-10-2007, 11:45 AM
HCF Member

ORIGINAL: SI_smiley07

hey all....i'm pretty new to the manual aspect. sometimes when i gas too much and pull off the clutch a tad bit too quickly..my tires skid like i'm about to race someone. is that bad for my tires? it's a short skid..i'm not burning rubber. also, is there a way u can preserve ur clutch's life length? my car is brand new but i want to keep it nice
Yeah, keep practicing. If you're squealing tires you're being hard on something.

You can preserve your clutch longevity by not abusing it. Don't use it to hold the car in place on a hill. Don't start off at high RPMs. Don't rest your foot on the clutch pedal. When waiting in traffic, shift to neutral and release the clutch pedal instead of keeping the pedal down with the car in gear.

Old 08-10-2007, 12:05 PM
Recognized HCF Member