Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

91 Si Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2004, 01:41 PM
Default 91 Si Exhaust

I have an exhaust question for you. I need to replace the exhaust on my 91 Civic Si Hatchback that I just purchased. Here's some background...

This 91 is my first Civic of this generation, I have had 5 first generation ('74-'79) Civics over the years. I did some minor stuff with my old Civic's, mostly maintenance, so I am pretty new to the game.

This car is currently entirely stock, but I plan on tuning it as things break or money becomes available. With the exhaust, I want to improve performance, but a quiet sound is very important to me. I love tuned Civics but really don't like loud exhausts. So what I am looking for is something quiet but power improving.

I've been to a couple local (Chicago area) muffler shops and their suggestions seem weak or like they don't understand what I want. The most recent suggestion was a 2" pipe from the cat back, going into a stock muffler with twin tips (the 91 Si's came stock with the twin tips and I like the look - I don't really like the cantalope launcher look). Any comments on this set up?

Any ideas/suggestions?

Thanks.
-t

'91 Civic Si Hatchback
Stock... so far.

Old 08-19-2004, 02:54 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: 91 Si Exhaust

i dont know if they make it for your car, but check into a greddy evolution cat-back system. its a very mellow sounding exhaust, though it does have the melon-shooter tip.

Old 08-19-2004, 03:59 PM

I'll look into the gReddy system. Thanks.

What do you think of the setup I described above - the 2" pipe from the cat-back with a stock exhaust? Will I see any performance gains with it?

Thanks,
-t

Old 08-19-2004, 04:15 PM
HCF Member