Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Extra cash, mod time

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 05:59 PM
Default Extra cash, mod time

Guys, I am a complete newb when it comes to imports. I have experiance with mustangs and american trucks and my 96 cobra runs mid 10s all on my own work and time. I do however need actual advice when it comes to these high revving vtecs. I was wondering from experiance who knows what kind of muffler/exhaust that will leave me with some back pressure but not sound like an angry bumble bee. I am looking for a nice mellow note that opens up well when WOT. I also have a question about cold air intakes. A kid came into my work today with my car in blue and said that his engine hydro locked in the recent storms in Jersey because the water was high and the intake sat about three inches off the ground. Does anybody know how to avoid this other than avoid the big puddles? Again thanks ahead of time for the help because these cars are a mystery to me.

Old 04-18-2007, 06:10 PM
Default RE: Extra cash, mod time

Any kind of exhaust with a canister style muffler (N1 stlye) is going to be really loud. Most come with silencers, but they sound like bees with them in. An exhaust with a muffler thats similar to what a factory muffler is will be reasonably quiet. Check out the thread below and listen to the two Rs*R systems and you can see what i mean. And the only sure way to keep from hydrolocking in big puddles is to just get a short ram intake.

Old 04-18-2007, 06:54 PM
Super Cereal Admin

For hydrolock, you can get a bypass valve for some CAI's... also, unless your car is completely slammed to the ground, you shouldn't have to worry about hyrdolock unless you're driving through really deep water... puddles won't do anything; small ponds will

Old 04-18-2007, 09:30 PM
HCF Member